crazy is as crazy does

At least one person in this house has been sick for the past three weeks.  It happens every year about this time.   You’d think someone of my experience and dislike for doctor’s offices would eat vitamins like candy and lace my kids’ food with it, but I also have a dislike for pills.  So, we get sick.  Every.  Single. Fall.

This fall was a doozy.   More than just the coughing and hacking and feeling like poop.  It also really depressed me.  I don’t know why.  You know how feeling like poop long enough and dealing with people feeling like poop just takes it’s toll on you?  Well, it finally got to all of us this weekend!  I was so far behind on laundry and house work that my dear Hubbs finally lost his marbles and became the Dr. Jeckyl that comes around about once a year.  I hate that guy!

As crazy and neurotic and borderline schizophrenic as I am, that’s how even-keeled and slow to anger and mostly kind the Hubbs is.  He’s pretty great for me.  You know the problem with his kind?  When they lose it, it’s downright ugly.  And usually when they blow, it’s at the freaking worst time possible!

So, I’m feeling like shit and pretty much the biggest loser ever because my domain, which I have spent the past 8 years learning how to be a good master of, is a shit-hole.  And Mr. Fabulous becomes Mr. Ass-Bag and yells at me about it and raises some really valid points, but in the most insensitive ways possible.  And I lose my freaking mind and curl into the fetal position and cry myself into a catatonic state and have to pray for the will to live.

I then went the longest I’ve ever gone in being mad at that man and refusing to talk to him.  We went to bed in a fight for the first time in nine years and it felt like CRAP.  And I didn’t talk to him for the better part of two days.  And my heart really, really hurt  about it.

Then today the assbag did something that made me laugh and I couldn’t hold it in any longer.  So I cried some more and he apologized and we talked it through and all is well again.

But I realized, that each time he has his yearly mean streak, it hurts me worse.  And we better do something about that.  Because I have a serious line of mental illness in my family and as crazy as I already am, one day I might snap and hit him in the head with a frying pan.  And that would just suck for all of us.

{Are you uncomfortable with how personal and “ugly” this is?  Don’t be.  This is our life.  If yours is any prettier then good for you.}

2 thoughts on “crazy is as crazy does

  1. You *could* totally get away with hitting him on the head with a frying pan though. I saw it once on Boston Legal and the guy got off on temporary insanity. Just FYI…
    Nice to hear I’m not the only one that lets the domain get backed up every once in a while. Mine currently looks like a bomb site…except with five little people and two dogs running around constantly demanding things like food and heat. Grrr. They’re so needy. 😉

  2. I’m going to keep that temporary insanity thing in mind. I’m not kidding when I say we have some mental illness in my gene pool. That would really help out in my defense attorney’s closing statement. Of course, this post probably wouldn’t. Darn it!

    Good luck with those needy people. Call Domino’s and Merry Maids. You’ve earned it. 😉

Leave a Reply

