this is why i’m hot

I’ve had a post ruminating in me for a couple of weeks now, but in the last day or so it’s made a new twist. Now I fear it’s going to whole new levels of sappy love muffin squishiness, and I better get this out quick before it takes on a life of it’s own.

I am one of the whiniest, bitchiest, most annoying women to grace this earth. I know this. I accept this. There are times I endeavor to be better than that, and times I say, “uhhhhh fuck it. I can only be what I am. You must learn to love me.”

No matter which of my personalities I’m sporting around, there is always one constant. I have THE BEST group of friends around me. They laugh at me, cry with me, encourage me, tell me to shut up, inspire me, sweat with me, pee their pants alongside me and take part of any and all drunken shenanigans one of us may come up with. In the years since high school, I have made an army of friends I only dreamt about having during those awkward socially retarded and more than a few mental breakdown laced years. (even then, there were a couple who fit this description and stuck it through with me. :))

My current friends (and try as I might I won’t mention you all) do things like:
– have the courage to write books
-have a gift that finds the most buried but amazing qualities in those around them (especially children) and a heart that knows how to unearth them.
– take care of husbands, may-as-well-be husbands, children, various “handicaps” (for lack of a better word all will relate to) farms, pets, careers, bills, families, businesses, food allergies out the wazoo, babies, “step”-children, sick children, sick husbands, husbands that injure themselves doing idiotic stunts, husbands that undergo career changes and the training that’s involved, countless baseball, soccer and softball games (in the rain)…and the list keeps going.

In short, I am surrounded by wonder women and supermen as friends. How could I not feel supported and encouraged and inspired? I am one lucky woman!

And the best part?

My best friend? Is the most amazing husband and dad a person could dream of. Oh yes, he annoys the living shit out of me some days. I’ve spent the better part of nine years smelling his stinky ass every morning as I wake up and every night as I fall asleep. He is moody and grumpy, an introvert (though no one would EVER guess that) that needs his space, and he knows how to push my buttons all over the place. BUT, he is more amazing than annoying. He sacrifices above and beyond for our family, he works his ass off, he loves, he laughs, he tells me no, and this is the most awesome thing ever, He. Gets. Me.

And I am just the luckiest bitch in the world.

Leave a Reply

