recipes, by popular demand.

Dammit, you guys are totally going to turn me into a Mommy Blogger.

Because you asked for them, I shall post recipes for you.  These are the most requested recipes I got over the past couple of days.  If you want others, just let me know.  I’m posting here because multiple people asked and I’m lazy.

Hear me now: I am not the pioneer woman.  I do not take amazing photos that make your mouth water and your eyes green with envy.  I do not have a momographer dsl Canon camera that makes everything look Amahzing.  I have a point and shoot that adequately records awesomeness from my children.  Also, I did not invent these recipes.  I took recipes I found online and changed them to be better.  to me.  you may have liked the originals better.  In which case you should have just googled some recipes and gone with whatever Better Homes and Gardens listed.

Let’s begin, shall we?

Farfalle with Spinach and Mushrooms (and bacon if you want, which is obviously not the healthiest version)

  • ounces dried farfalle (bow-tie pasta)
  • *4-6 slices of bacon (I like thick) cooked the way you like it (I like crisp)* (optional and perfectly yummy without)
  • tablespoon olive oil (or more, I have no idea.)
  • medium onion, chopped (I like to slice and I also use sweet onion so my kids don’t bitch- such as WallaWalla)
  • cloves garlic, minced (I like lots of garlic, this may be too much for the average person)
  • 1-2 cup sliced portobello, button and shiitake mushrooms (or any combo.  I also like it with just portos)
  • teaspoon snipped fresh thyme (or 1/2 or more dried)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • cups coarsly sliced fresh spinach
  • zest of  around 1/2 lemon (just to “freshen up” the dish.)
  • tablespoons shredded Parmesan cheese (or more. I like MORE.) 🙂
1. Boil Pasta in generously salted water.
2. If using bacon, cut into small pieces and cook to your desired crispiness.  (If you’re really feeling adventurours, reserve the fat to cook onion, garlic and mushrooms in.  That’s totally your call.  I, personally, would neeeeeever do that.)
3. Saute onion in oil (or bacon drippings) until translucent.  Add garlic and cook for a short time (careful not too long- it’s gross if it burns!).
4.  Add all mushrooms, pepper and thyme and saute until just tender.
5. Add lemon zest and spinach and cook until spinach just wilts (about a minute.)
6.  Combine with drained pasta and drizzle with a touch of olive oil (if you use the good stuff. If you go cheap- you can omit this if you want.  I personally think cheap is fine too.  Also, if you use bacon drippings, you probably won’t need this.)
7.  Top with Shredded Parm (not the powdery stuff.  unless you want.  whatever.)

Stolen from BHG version of this recipe. Which I found lacking in flavor!

See, this is why I’m not the pioneer woman! 🙂
Spiced Chicken with Cous Cous Salad via Real Simple
(I never claimed to have written all these recipes.  Also, I’ve never followed this one to a T. or is it tee? Whatever. I don’t like the peas in this.  Also, I have been known to buy boxed cous cous in a pinch. YUMMY.)
Garlic Chicken with Sweet Potatoes
This is loosely derived from a recipe I found on recipe.com.  But, I don’t do whole chickens.  I don’t do meat on bones or skin and I don’t do dark meat.  I have issues.  If you’re a whole chicken kind of a cook, go with the recipe.com version.  If you’re like me, here’s a version:
You’ll need:
4 regular sized chicken breasts- Costco breasts are huge. (ha.)  (when I cook, if they’re large I make 2 and we share with the kids. They are still small eaters. This “rub” should be enough for 4 regular sized breasts.)
Garlic (4 large cloves?)
2T fresh snipped rosemary (I suppose you can use dried but it feels like you’re eating tree bark.) Strip the leaves and chop.
enough salt and pepper to generously season breasts
enough olive oil to generously coat breasts.
I like to combine all ingredients and put in a large zip-lock to “marinade” for a few minutes before I put on the pan.  It also helps to equally coat all parts of the breast. *Here’s a little tip: a chicken breast will be completely marinated in 30 minutes, whatever the marinade.*
Roast breasts on 375 until done. (I use a meat thermometer). I like to roast on stoneware pans. I just do.
Here’s instructions for the potatoes the recipe.com way.

Place sweet potatoes, onion wedges, garlic cloves, 1/2 tablespoon of  rosemary, and 1/4 teaspoon of salt in a baking pan. Drizzle vegetable mixture with 1 tablespoon olive oil; toss to coat. Place in oven on a separate rack and roast, uncovered, for 50 to 60 minutes or until tender, stirring every 15 minutes.
I also just like to bake my sweet potatoes, split in half, dollop a little butter, nutmeg and a small sprinkling of brown sugar on top. It goes well with this chicken. (that’s the non healthy version but YUMMY.)
I’ll post the Artichoke stuffed Chicken Breast as well as BBQ chicken pizza recipes later.  I’m tired and they actually are my own recipes so it’ll take longer.
Hope you enjoy.  Let me know how it turns out for you when you try it!
k

 

2 thoughts on “recipes, by popular demand.

  1. OMG ~ My vegetarian hubby is going to miss out not eating the bacon in the farfelle/spinach recipe~ that looks delicious! ( I will take the bacon out of his). All of the recipes look good. I like recipe sites and books, as a matter of fact I collect church cookbooks, but when I can get a recipe from someone who has actually tried and tweeked a recipe ~ I am all over that! I am not a true follower anyway, I just use recipes as a guide. I suppose that’s why my meals never come out the same lol. Throw recipes into the mix now and again ~ I love it! And the garlic chicken w/sweet potatoes sounds wonderful too. I’m excited to try them. Thank you!!

    • I, too, love recipes already tried out by a trusted source. I feel I can be trusted here because I’m a little on the fluffy side and that means I know good food. 🙂
      I think it will be fun to share the new stuff I’m finding. Last night we weren’t totally in the mood for the garlic chicken and sweet potatoes I had in mind and wanted something a little more “comfort foodish.” So I roasted the chicken with this sweet hickory rub I have and baked the sweet potatoes and did the nutmeg and honey trick (along with some broccoli for greens). MAN it was good! I want more!

Leave a Reply

