more recipes

Okay, I promised to make good on providing you the recipes so here goes.  I’ve also been working on a couple of other projects and have written 4500 words over the past couple of days, so this is going to be short and sweet and without any funny business.

Artichoke/Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts. (I think… what?  What the hell.  My dang font won’t stop italicizing without my permission!  GAH! I don’t have time for this! WHAT THE SHIT?!?!?!)  Anyway, I’m sorry but this is how it will be.  I think I got a version of this recipe from Cooking Light or one of those years ago, but I have changed it so many times it probably isn’t even close to the same.
 
1 Can Artichoke Bottoms (not the marinated artichokes.  Also, bottoms are hard to find so I end up using hearts half the time and they are good too.)
1/2-3/4 c feta cheese (I remember this originally calling for goat cheese, but I like feta better.)
1/4 ish cup chopped chives (I rarely remember this, and also regularly have used shallots)
1-2 t chopped fresh thyme (dried is good too)
2 t lemon zest (or just a zest of one lemon)
4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (if small- this will do 6 easily)
Pepper
Olive Oil
1 t cornstarch
2T lemon juice
 
Drain artichokes with a colander over a bowl.  RESERVE the liquid! (it totally sucks when you forget and lose the liquid!)
Coarsely chop the chokes.
Combine chokes, cheese, around 2T chives, some thyme, half the lemon zest in a bowl.
Cut a horizontal slit through the thick part of the chicken boobs  to make a pocket.  (I try to challenge myself each time to make the biggest pocket possible without poking through the meat anywhere.  Who wants to cut into “stuffed” chicken and find no stuffing.  Not me. Duh.)
 
(Dude, this italicized business is getting annoying.  It’s so hard to read!)
 
Stuff those babies full of the filling.  Close with a toothpick if you so choose. (I’ve never had too many problems with leaky boobs- HA!  unless I over fill them.  *Never mind.  I am TOTALLY funny today.*
 
Sprinkle chicken with some pepper and put in a med-high pan of olive oil.  Cook until done.  I’ve heard it’s about 6 mins on each side, but I don’t time this stuff.
 
Move all the chicken to one side of the pan and give yourself a little space to make the sauce. (Or take it out, Overachiever.)
 
Add reserved artichoke liquid, some more thyme and the rest of the lemon zest to pan.  Combine the cornstarch and lemon juice in a bowl (as thoroughly as possible!) and then whisk into the sauce.  This will thicken it.  Not a fan of cornstarch? Use flour.  Bring to a boil.  Move the chicken back into the sauce and coat it.
 
Serve with some chives on top if you so choose.

I like to serve this with CousCous or whole wheat pasta with a little brown butter and parm.

Listen carefully:  I have also been known to totally take the lazy route, slice up some chicken breasts and cook them with some thyme and pepper on them, and then make the sauce in the pan with it and throw in the feta at the end with just a little time for it to melt a little.  It was still totally good and I didn’t have to feel up any chickens.  You’re welcome.
 
 
BBQ Chicken Pizza (Not a healthy recipe)

Do (AHHHH! the italics are gone! yahoo.  Now how did I do that?  CRAP!)  Anyway,

Do you have a bread machine or a stand mixer?  If so, you NEED to make your own pizza dough.  It takes five minutes, sits for an hour and then you can make around 3 pizzas on the cheap and so much better than domino’s!  Follow the recipe that came with your machine.  Or email me, I’ll tell you mine.  I use whole wheat crust usually and it takes just slightly less flour than the recipe calls for with all-purpose.  I use a stand mixer with the dough hook for mine.

If you don’t have a way to easily make your own crust then you can ask your local pizza joint for some (or papa murphy’s) or buy the refrigerator kind at the market.

Make your dough.  While it sits, bake your chicken breasts in the oven with some BBQ sauce.  (Or buy a rotisserie chicken at the store and pick off the meat.  I would NEVER do this!  I am such a hard worker in the kitchen!)  If you go the rotisserie route, I highly recommend pouring some BBQ sauce on the meat you’ve shredded or whatever and stirring it around.  It’s just better if the chix have a good BBQ sauce flavor.

Also, while dough rises: carmelize a sweet onion, roast some garlic cloves and make some crumbled bacon (you can also use those “real” bacon bits from the salad dressing aisle.  The stuff that really truly is bacon.  Not Bacos.)

Making the pizza sauce:  I take my favorite sauce (which right now is Sweet Baby Ray’s original) and mix in a splash or two of balsamic vinegar and some cilantro.  Trust me.

Put a thin later of sauce on your crust (which I never roll to be round.  where’s the fun in that?  Make it Rustic.) 🙂

Place the chicken, then onion, then bacon, then roasted garlic, then a small layer of cheese.  Just a sprinking.  (I use a pizza blend- mozarella and cheddar) I’m serious here, the cheese is SO not the point of this pizza.  It more just holds all the other stuff on there.

That’s it.  Bake it on 450 (or whatever your recipe tells you) till the crust is crisp (or at least not raw) and dig in.  This will literally make you want to slap your mama it’s SO good!

 
 
 
 
7 thoughts on “more recipes

  1. Wow ~ both recipes look great! I’ve never tried a bbq chicken pizza before but your recipe sounds really good and I am always having bbq chicken leftover. Thanks again for the recipes~ I for one am glad you veered off from your ” normal” blog to give us some recipes. You just keep us guessing as to what’s next with you ~ Keep it up!

    • Those are definitely my two most time consuming. I actually try to do the pizza when I’ve had part of the crap from another meal, then I can just slather it together.
      And lately, I do the chicken one more as a sauce than a stuffed boob. But don’t tell anyone. I’m trying to look all Barefoot Contessa.

  2. Now i feel like a copy cat— BUT!! as the photos can attest, and so can you cuz you’ve been there– i swear i already had mine posted– I just am now taking the time to make them posts and not pages! really! I swear!

Leave a Reply

